Skip Navigation

Emory's Lewis, de Waal Named 2008 AAAS Fellows

May 13, 2008

Media Contacts

Emily Rios, 404-727-7732,; Lisa Newbern, 404-727-7709,

ATLANTA-- Emory University Provost Earl Lewis and Frans de Waal, director of the Living Links Center at the Yerkes National Primate Research Center at Emory, have been named 2008 fellows of the American Academy of Arts & Sciences (AAAS), one of the nation's oldest and most prestigious honorary societies.

"I am thrilled, obviously, to be so honored and delighted to represent Emory University as a new member of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences. I look forward to a growing list of Emory faculty so honored in future years," says Lewis, who is also Asa Griggs Candler Professor of History and African American Studies.

"I am very honored by the recognition from this prestigious organization, and also happy to be in the company of the provost of our university," says de Waal, C.H. Candler Professor of Primate Behavior.

Lewis, who holds degrees in history and psychology, is author and co-editor of seven books, among them the award-winning "To Make Our World Anew: A History of African Americans" (Oxford University Press, 2000). His most recent works are "The African American Urban Experience: Perspectives from the Colonial Period to the Present," co-edited and published with Palgrave (2004), and the co-written "Defending Diversity: Affirmative Action at the University of Michigan," published by the University of Michigan Press (2004).

A member of the National Academy of Sciences since 2004 and the American Philosophical Society since 2005,  de Waal is a world-renowned primatologist and best selling author. He is widely recognized for his behavioral and evolutionary work with great apes as well as for ten books, two of which The New York Times named "Notable Books of the Year." In 2007, TIME magazine named de Waal a leading scientist and thinker in its  Top 100: the People Who Shape Our World special issue.

Drawn from the sciences, the arts and humanities, business, public affairs, and the nonprofit sector, the 190 new Fellows and 22 Foreign Honorary Members are leaders in their fields and include Nobel laureates and recipients of Pulitzer and Pritzker prizes, Academy and Grammy awards, and Kennedy Center Honors.

"The Academy honors excellence by electing to membership remarkable men and women who have made preeminent contributions to their fields, and to the world,” said Academy President Emilio Bizzi. “We are pleased to welcome into the Academy these new members to help advance our founders’ goal of ‘cherishing knowledge and shaping the future."

The 212 scholars, scientists, artists, civic, corporate and philanthropic leaders come from 20 states and 15 countries, and range in age from 37 to 86. Represented among this year’s newly elected members are more than 50 universities and more than a dozen corporations, as well as museums, national laboratories and private research institutes, media outlets and foundations.

The new class will be inducted at a ceremony October 11, at the Academy’s headquarters in Cambridge, Massachusetts.

Emory University is one of the nation’s leading private research universities and a member of the Association of American Universities. Emory is known for its demanding academics, outstanding undergraduate college of arts and sciences, highly ranked professional schools and state-of-the-art research facilities. Emory is ranked as one of the country's top 20 national universities by U.S. News & World Report. In addition to its nine schools, the university encompasses The Carter Center, Yerkes National Primate Research Center and Emory Healthcare, the state's largest and most comprehensive health care system.

The Yerkes National Primate Research Center, Emory University, is dedicated to conducting essential basic science and translational research to advance scientific understanding and to improve the health and well-being of humans and nonhuman primates. The center, as one of only eight National Institutes of Health–funded national primate research centers, provides leadership, training and resources to foster scientific creativity, collaboration and discoveries. Yerkes-based research is grounded in scientific integrity, expert knowledge, respect for colleagues, an open exchange of ideas and compassionate, quality animal care.

The Robert W. Woodruff Health Sciences Center of Emory University is an academic health science and service center focused on missions of teaching, research, health care and public service. Its components include the Emory University School of Medicine, Nell Hodgson Woodruff School of Nursing, and Rollins School of Public Health; Yerkes National Primate Research Center; Winship Cancer Institute of Emory University; and Emory Healthcare, the largest, most comprehensive health system in Georgia. Emory Healthcare includes: The Emory Clinic, Emory-Children's Center, Emory University Hospital, Emory University Hospital Midtown, Wesley Woods Center, and Emory University Orthopaedics & Spine Hospital. The Woodruff Health Sciences Center has a $2.5 billion budget, 17,600 employees, 2,500 full-time and 1,500 affiliated faculty, 4,700 students and trainees, and a $5.7 billion economic impact on metro Atlanta.

Learn more about Emory’s health sciences: -
@emoryhealthsci (Twitter) -